Becoming a successful author should never be about the writer but about the work.

Becoming a successful author should never be about the writer but about the work. Why do people need to know what the writer does when they’re not writing, why do they need to know what their likes and dislikes are and why do they need to know what food they like to eat? All that the readers aught to know is if they like the work, if the books they write excite them or move them on an emotional level, reach them in ways only they know about. That’s what it should be about. A writer should be able to go about his business, churn out their work and deliver it through whichever resource they choose, to the readers and bask in the anonymity that is so desirable about being a writer, but not today. Today because of social media enables us to reach out and touch more people than we ever thought possible a decade or more ago writers like myself are forced into this arena of battling to reach readers in ways I never dreamt I would do. As an introvert I am more comfortable locked away in a room and left to write where my imagination can soar to great heights and develop stories that would astound rather than communicate with thousands of people on a daily basis. That’s not to say that I am a hermit who lives in a cave and only comes out in the dead of night when no one is around, on the contrary, I have a job, I go to work and I have a circle of friends who we entertain frequently. What I meant was that I find it almost impossible to market myself. To try and make myself exciting to readers is not something I feel comfortable doing, nor do I seek controversy in order to sell my work. I’m just an ordinary guy with an average life who just happens to write exciting, thrillers packed with action and suspense. I’m so bland I make beige look good but I do write a cracking good story.
PhotoPhotoPhotoPhoto
7/14/17
4 Photos – View album
About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

