Stranglehold

As a writer we rely on certain things, such as being able to get our work out to our readers. To be able to establish this link we need certain and various sources otherwise you work is all in vain.

Most of these sources are in place enabling us to do what we do best and that is write. We need things such as editors to edit our work, graphic designers to come up with the cover art for our books, formatters to help make the work fit whichever platform we decide to publish on and finally when all that is done we need social media to get the word out to the readers to inform them it is ready. What do you do though if one of those valuable resources is taken away from you?

The publishing world is more cut throat than you would like to believe and this is a fact I am sadly learning to realise. I have seen tales on certain social media platforms where authors have gone to great lengths to stifle the output of a perceived rival, I say ‘perceived’ because in this world I don’t consider other authors rivals but more like friends in a community. Recently though I have found that one of the resources I rely upon has been taken away from me. I am not sure what has happened or how this came about but a certain social media platform has prevented me from sharing this blog to their page because and I quote from the message that pops up every time I try, ‘This message contains content that some ******** users have reported as abusive’ I have redacted the name of the platform but I am sure some of you will guess who I mean.

This social media platform is huge and has a stranglehold on users such as myself and trying to get them to listen is virtually impossible. Even if you stick completely to their community guidelines all it takes to derail you is one person to report you. It seems they listen more to these comments than to the innocent people who are caught out by this. I have tried to contact them and all I get is being referred to their forums. I have yet to find out how to contact them directly, there must be a way and I will eventually find it but at the moment my progress is stalled, which I am sure was the intent of whomever reported me.

This platform is not the only huge corporation with a stranglehold on the publishing industry, Amazon too has become a monster that makes up rules as it feels like. Recently I have seen a switch away from them toward other means of publishing which can only be good for us writers and readers alike. With more outlets comes more diversity of price and format which is one thing that Amazon seeks to stifle.

If only there was more diversity within social media platforms then maybe mistakes like this one would be fewer and more far between. Unfortunately until then I must soldier on and hope for the best.

About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

