New Challenges.


I recently was given the chance to co-host an author event on Facebook. The event was to promote the re-release of Sunshine Somerville’s book The Kota. Each guest author was offered an hour’s slot in the event that lasted most of the afternoon and for me it was a first time thing.

I had attended such events before as a visitor but never as a host so this was definitely a new challenge for me and as the time drew near for me to take control, panic set in.

What was I supposed to do again? Could I cope? What if I messed things up? All these questions were running through my head and more as I sat down at my laptop as the clock counted down. Luckily I had the support of my new Marketing and Promotions Manager, Karina Kantas who had prepared my schedule from what I was to post, what I was to say, even down to smoothing my brow and easing my fears prior to my joining the event. She was a true professional and I honestly could not have done it without her.

The event went off well, I cannot say without a hitch because my first post needed the approval of the person running the event which threw me into another mild panic, but as soon as that was sorted and the event started to flow, all went remarkably well and I was left thinking “What was all the fuss about?”

I had a great time, I was made to feel so welcome by everyone present and the best thing was, although I was there to help promote the re-release of The Kota, during my hour long guest spot, all I talked about was my writing mainly the Col Sec series. It was a fantastic venue to promote my upcoming release of The Blackstar Gambit by Imzadi Publishing on May 16th and my entire back catalogue of not only the Col Sec series but the Jack Dillon books as well.

Interest  in the series was high and my page on Facebook devoted to it, along with the fan page for it, both received new ‘likes’ and many people said they would be picking up the books in the future.

Now I’m left thinking about my own event which is fast approaching. We have our own release party booked on Facebook on the 19th May, three days after the release of The Blackstar Gambit to celebrate said release which I am looking forward to now with pleasant anticipation. All the details are being handled by my supremely competent marketing Manager, Karina so all I have to do is turn up on the day and do my thing. I hope it goes as well as Sunshine Somerville’s did but whatever happens, I know it’ll be an enjoyable event and just the first of many. The Col Sec series is an ongoing series with no sign of it coming to an end any time soon. Imzadi Publishing has agreed to publish Ronin, the first book in the series so I have high hopes that many more will be published by them in the near future so these events will become common place as more and more books come out.

An author friend of mine jokingly referred to my release as a tidal wave was coming, in any event, I am ready for it, whatever happens.17821125_10210855277251283_2070480600_n17792611_10210855274931225_1434468212_n

2 thoughts on “New Challenges.

Leave a Reply

