High hopes


blackstar-gambit-imzadi-coverThe Satan Strain AMAZON LARGEScience fiction has a wide and varied fan base that the majority of the general public still consider a little off. Although it’s become much easier to come out as a true geek or nerd than ever before it is still a sub culture that gets strange looks from the general public. I am proud to be a geek or a nerd and this lifestyle choice is amply illustrated by the material I write. My Col Sec series is available on Amazon and other online outlets and two of the books have been picked up by Imzadi Publishing in America and I have high hopes that the rest of the series will be optioned as well.

Unfortunately any hopes of earning massive amounts through this series will probably never materialise because the plain fact is that sci fi does not sell that well. Check out any best seller list from the New York Times through to your local bookshop and sci fi will almost certainly not feature. That does not mean that these books don’t sell at all, quite the opposite really, they do sell but not in the millions, unless you are JK Rowling you cannot guarantee your latest book will sell out in minutes.

The Col Sec series deals with the adventures of a group of individuals in an organisation called Col Sec or Colonial Security, set in the mid twenty fifth century when technology has advanced to the stage where space travel is common place and many planets have been colonised Col Sec keeps the peace. These tales are chock full of adventure and fast paced action that rivals any modern thriller written by the likes of James Rollins or Clive Cussler but with the added bonus of being in space. Like most authors my work suffers from not having the reviews that can determine whether a book will sell or not. I’ve had a few reviews which have all been 4 or 5 star ratings but to date my best selling book isn’t in this series, it’s a book called The Satan Strain written under my pen name of Jack Dillon. It features an organisation called ATLAS Force, Advanced Threat Locate And Secure and the story is a modern thriller with a sci fi element to it. This book has had the most reviews, all 4 and 5 star ratings again and in my opinion would sit well among the works of the aforementioned James Rollins, Clive Cussler or even Matthew Reilly. I don’t have an agent repping my work or a big publisher pushing my work, like a lot of writers I’m doing all this on my own. My online profile gains followers every day so who knows, one day maybe my work will be sitting on the shelf next to that of my idols.

I have high hopes but these are not enough to obtain my dream. I know there is still a lot of hard work ahead of me. The road ahead is never easy when you’re working toward a goal all I ask is for a little company along the way.

2 thoughts on “High hopes

Leave a Reply

