What is a Best Seller?


As the time draws near for the release of my first book to be published by a professional book publisher the term ‘best seller’ is becoming more and more important to me than ever.

No doubt my book will be available through Amazon in every format possible which brings me to my point. What is a best seller, or more importantly does the term hold the same weight that it used to? I ask this because the internet and particularly, social media sites are full to bursting with best selling authors selling their wares but these people are not household names like the best selling authors I have known in the past, names like Wilbur Smith, Robert Ludlum and Jack Higgins, to name but three. I have read that if you target your book at a list on Amazon that is unique, such as Dwarf juggling Dolphin riding western then you have a good chance of being the only book on that list. If you sell just one copy then you are immediately an Amazon best selling author.

Now the thought of being a best selling author is as appealing to me as it’s always been but I think I’d rather sell thousands of books a month and not make the international best seller list, or even the national list than be an Amazon best selling author with only a few copies sold. This may sound mercenary and that I’m only in this for the money but you’d be wrong. If I sell more books it means I reach a far wider audience and there’s a greater chance of one day hitting that magic list and becoming a best selling author.

To me the term best selling means that you sell more than others. This is not a race or a competition though, the objective any author has is to reach as wide an audience as possible. To share what they have to say with people who hopefully will appreciate the hard work needed to produce the work.

On May 16 2017 my book, The Blackstar Gambit will be released by Imzadi Publishing and I will begin the waiting game to see if it will reach the lofty heights I aim for.

Leave a Reply

