Love affair rekindled.

Saturday July 12 1969 and my love affair with a tv series began. That was the first time that Star Trek aired in the UK. My memory is a little vague about this in the respect that I thought it replaced Doctor Who in the same time slot, my favourite Doctor of that time was Jon Pertwee, Doctor number Three but since researching this I find that Star Trek actually aired in the UK before Jon Pertwee took over the role the following year. What I do remember is that I was hooked from the first time I saw the starship Enterprise flash across the tv screen. This was the tv show I had always wanted, a live action sci fi action show where crews of space ships explored the galaxy fighting encounters with aliens. There were ray guns, as we called them back then, space ships, distant planets, all the things I’d craved for since my love of sci fi began. The closest thing for me on tv had been Fireball XL5 back in 1962 and then nothing until Lost in Space. Star Trek for me at the tender age of thirteen was the epitome of sci fi, it was what sci fi should have been and it was the best thing on tv. I couldn’t wait for Saturday to come around so I could watch the next episode. When it got cancelled I was mortified. It wasn’t until Star Wars came around that I felt the same way again about anything remotely sci fi. Of course the popularity of Star Wars gave Star Trek the opportunity to move out again into the vast cosmos via Movies. So there we were once more venturing forth with the crew of the Enterprise we all had come to know as best friends, some even better than family. When the news of the reboot hit I was in two minds, first off I was pleased that the adventures would continue with a younger crew, we all could see the aging crew battling not only the alien encounters but the onset of old age, sometimes the latter was a harder battle to fight and secondly that if they were going to do it, then please don’t mess it up. Although I enjoyed the new film, I wasn’t overjoyed with the new timeline. It was a little too far removed from what we were familiar with, but, I thought with the next film perhaps we would get closer to the old formula, see more of the characters we all loved come out in the new portrayals. I was wrong, Into Darkness was a mess, so much so that I didn’t even go see the following film when it was released. I heard that they were going to return to what made Star Trek so popular, but I’d heard promises of this nature before and been let down, we all had, so I gave it a miss. Then the reviews came out and, with reservation I bought the Blu Ray when I was released. This is the film that blows away the previous two films and is the Star Trek film, we the fans had been waiting for, the film we all deserved. They got everything right, from the writing right down to the acting, everything was just how it should be. The got rid of the ridiculous lens flares, the use of the Budweiser facility for the interior of the Enterprise and brought on people who actually knew about Star Trek, people who were fans of the show and it showed. My love affair with a show, no more than just a show, with everything that Star Trek is has been rekindled. Now I can’t wait until the next film is released, I just hope they keep all the same talent on board to maintain what they’ve tried so hard to achieve with Beyond. Until then I’ll just have to watch Beyond again, and again.

About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Blog, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

