Old dog, new tricks.

After spending twenty years working for a company doing a job I have spent over forty years learning I faced the harsh reality of a failing economy. The company I was working for went into decline, falling orders forced them to seek solutions to combat this dire situation and I was one of the casualties.

I was suddenly faced with one of the top five most stressful things you can do during your lifetime, changing jobs. This was something I never thought I would have to do again, considering the time I had devoted to the company which just illustrated the severity of the situation. Never the less, taking the bit between my teeth I set out to find another job which I did, with much less trouble than I expected, I think the magic words ‘forty years experience’ helped there.

The new company, even though they trade in the same market place has a more diverse clientele and to fill the customers requirements means I have to learn new skills. Some say people of my age don’t like change and don’t cope well with it but I beg to differ. When I started writing the only way to get published was through a publishing contract with a publishing house. During my journey of discovery I learned that self publishing was becoming a viable alternative, or so we aspiring writers were led to believe. I also learned all the things publishing houses do for writers, which I had to learn to do for myself. It was a challenge that I embraced with optimism and hope which quickly turned to frustration and, at times, panic and despair but I never gave up. That attitude saw me through, honing my skills to the point where I earned myself a publishing contract with a small press in the United States. This is the first step on the ladder to fulfilling my dream of becoming a full time writer. It’s also with this same attitude I embraced my new job, facing the challenge of learning new skills to become a useful member of the team I now work with.

This experience has reminded me of something that I always knew but that was never recognised in my old job. Experience does count and you can teach old dogs new tricks, you just have to be willing to face the challenge.

About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Blog, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

