Book Shelves

Recently I visited our local library to check out how it had changed. I hadn’t been there for some time and I felt bad. It was a place I used to go frequently when I was a youngster. When I learned to read and I discovered there was a place you could take as many as an armful of books home with you for free, I wanted to live there. During my high school days I would spend many a Saturday morning in the reference section checking out books for a topic I was writing about and I admit to being frequently distracted by all the other books available.

I have always been an avid reader and I always will, the joy I get from reading is limitless and I just cannot fathom the reasoning behind anyone who says that they don’t read. I feel sad for them thinking of all the worlds they will not get to inhabit, of all the places they will never get to visit nor see, but it is their choice. I learned long ago that you cannot force anyone to do something against their will without torture, and not reading, in my opinion is torture enough.

Being the avid reader that I am I was looking forward to revisiting all the books at the library, saying ‘hi’ to some old friends and to making some new ones. The layout had changed and was a little disorganised for my taste. There used to be a thriller section, but these books were now all lumped together under ‘general fiction’ mixed in with some paranormal. The only other sections separate from the rest were ‘crime’ and ‘sci fi’ As I perused this latter section I came across the first two books in my Col Sec series, Ronin and Omega. I was taken aback slightly at the sight of my books, bot that I didn’t know they would be there because I did, it was just the shock of seeing something I had written actually on a book shelf, it was an awesome feeling. For the first time since starting writing the series I actually saw the fruits of my labour on an actual book shelf.

In a couple of months I hope that there will be an addition, another in the series but this one published by Imzadi Publishing. The Blackstar Gambit is due out in late spring of 2017 and will be the first book of mine picked up by a publishing house, the first but hopefully not the last.library-image

About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Blog, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

