End of an era

It is a fallacy that writers make a ton of money. Most do not make enough to make a living and have to earn a living with another job, their day job, and as in every rule  there are the exceptions, but these are a minority. Unfortunately I belong to the majority, those writers who work feverishly into the night and at weekends honing their skills on projects that only see the light of day when hours of painstakingly exhaustive attention to detail have been completed.

My day job was one that has taken over forty years to gather the skills I have acquired. I started out as an apprentice and worked through into becoming a professional printer in the ceramic industry. My most recent employment had been with a company that lasted twenty years. I started there when I was the only employee and I’ve seen the company grow from infant-hood to one of the major players in the industry.I have seen both good and bad times. I have not always seen eye to eye with my employer but I have always given my best. The company recently has been in a bit of a decline and staff have had to be let go and I was one of them. I was lucky enough to find another job but the day I left was one of the hardest days for me to endure through my twenty years with the company. I went around the factory to say farewell to all my friends letting them all know we would meet up again which I meant. We have been having regular get togethers at my home for the last year or so and these will continue. To say farewell to them on that morning felt like part of me was dying, even though I knew I would see them all again soon, I would not see them on a daily basis, and it hurt. There was almost a tearful moment with one particular lady, a wonderful woman who was a true inspiration to all of us knowing what battles she faced over the last few years, battles that took her to the brim but ones she eventually won.

My manager summed it up when just before I left, he said “It felt like the end of an era because you’ve been here so long.” I suppose he was right.

I hope the company breaks free of the present slump for the sake of everyone I left behind. I may have had my differences with some of them, being so long anywhere it was inevitable, but I harbour them nothing but good will. Realisation that I have left the company has begun to set in over the last couple days and it’s something that has bothered me more than I thought it would. I look forward to starting work in my new job. It’s a challenge I accept with open arms and I’ll also carry on writing, working feverishly into the night as I hope to move from the majority into the minority.

About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Blog, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

