A writer’s life.

I’ve been an Indie writer now for over fifteen years and still trying to break into the big time like most other Indie writer out there. The average person on the street probably thinks the life of a writer is a glamourous one and I must admit that was a great incentive to my starting. Truth is I loved the idea of walking into a book shop and seeing my work displayed on the shelves but also being able to walk around in complete anonymity. The truth of it I soon realised was far from that perceived truth. As an Indie author you have far greater control over your work and how it goes out to the public, in fact you have total control simply because you have to do it all yourself. Some may like this aspect of writing and to some extent so do I but it can be tedious and time consuming. Doing all the work that a publishing company does for you when you have a book deal takes time away from the important work of writing.

This takes all the glamour out of the job, and it is a job, it is far more than a mere hobby. It is hard work, not physical work but it can be just as draining emotionally. So to set the record straight I was going to lay out what a normal day would be for a writer but everytime I tried to lay it out it just didn’t seem right and then I read an article by another Indie author and I thought it was just perfect. The link to the article is below so you can read for yourself.

http://venturegalleries.com/blog/a-day-in-my-glamorous-life-as-a-writer/

About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Blog, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

