The next best thing to meeting your idol

They say you should never meet your heroes because they never live up to our expectations. That is no fault other than our own though. We put our idols on a pedestal sometimes so high above us that we cannot possibly reach them and when they fall off, they are never the same in our eyes again. We forget that although they can do whatever it is we idolise them for they are still human beings. As human beings they have the same hopes and aspirations as do we and more importantly the same failings. having said that I would still like to meet a writer  I admire greatly. I have a few writers who I read as my ‘go to guys’ when I’m looking for a good book to read because I know they’ll deliver every time. One of them stands out as extra special. This writer has been in the business for almost twenty years perfecting his craft. It was reported recently that he had garnered a $15 million advance for his next three books, I have no evidence of the truth of this but it was reported it was not simply because of his talent which is prodigious but because through all his years of success he has never sought out another publisher. He has remained with the same editor and publisher since his start which in this day and age of instant gratification I find remarkable. This writer goes by the pen name of James Rollins.

I have to admit that as a writer I feel influenced by this man’s work when I sit down to write my adventures, especially the ATLAS Force series. I try to infuse my books with the same sense of danger and pace that permeates through Mister Rollins Sigma series. I have read all of the Sigma series and I even became a member on his official fan page on Facebook. I’ve spoken with a few of the other fans on the page and even had the first ATLAS Force book reviewed by one of the administrators of the page. I decided to post a photo of myself holding the first copies of The Death List and The Satan Strain onto Instagram and was amazed when I learned that the pic was liked by James Rollins himself. As you can imagine I was blown away and had to share with the fan page. What followed was three hours of pure enjoyment as the fans embraced me as we engaged in conversation about the books and how nice Mister Rollins is. Many of the fans have met the guy and all say what a genuine pleasure it was to meet him.

I now have two ambitions in my writing career, firstly I would like to emulate some of the success of the aforementioned Mister Rollins and secondly I would hope to be as nice a guy as him.

About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Blog, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

