Local beauty spot returning to the spotlight.

Growing up in Staffordshire there were quite a few places we could visit of a weekend where, as a family we could relax from the hustle of working lives and in my case school. Most of these places were not more than gardens or parks where you could take a leisurely stroll around or have a picnic lunch at. One of my favourites and just happened to be near where I lived, was Rudyard Lake. A man made reservoir that in its heyday used to house thousands of visitors on a daily basis. I have some fond memories of spending time with my Mum, Dad and Sister there when I was growing up, just walking around the lake or taking a trip on the narrow gauge railway that travelled part way round the lake before returning to its starting point. When I became a father, I took my kids there to let them enjoy the same pleasure I had when I was young there but it wasn’t quite the same, it never is. The lake was still there obviously but things had changed, it seemed smaller somehow and a little less awe-inspiring, although I bet my young kids thought it was huge when they first saw it. Also it seemed that people were taking less care of it and everything surrounding it, I supposed funding was dropping off as the amount of visitors dwindled too. It was nice to see the BBC news website do an article on it though, and it showed just how popular the place used to be. It was known as The Blackpool of the Potteries and some even called it the Geneva of England. There is little doubt that in its heyday Rudyard could hold its own as a popular tourist attraction being home to twenty thousand tourists a day, which, even by today’s standards is pretty awesome. Having read the article I thought I just had to share it with you. Click on the link below to read the full article and feel free to leave any  thoughts in the comments section.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-36153037?SThisFB

About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Blog, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

