How political correctness is failing our future generations.

When I grew up I was taught manners, the difference between right and wrong and respect for our elders. At school, as well as in the home we were taught that our actions have consequences and that if we did something wrong we would have to face those consequences which was usually some form of punishment. Most of the people I grew up with went on to become well adjusted individuals who could keep down a job, had relationships that lasted, had families and brought up kids who were also taught these same values. When I left school I got a job in a factory where I became an indentured apprentice to become a screen printer in the ceramics trade. If I made mistakes I was reprimanded because this was the real world now and not school and my actions here carried greater consequences. I didn’t see anything wrong in this in fact it made me realise that to do a good job in any profession you need to have that balance of right and wrong. It made me good at what I do. What I see around me now though is a society that seems to have discarded those tried and tested values in favour of something called political correctness. More and more I see kids leaving school completely unprepared for a job, any job anywhere. School nowadays is letting our children down in this one fundamental area. Children in school are constantly told that they are untouchable, the teachers are not allowed to punish them if they do wrong, which leads them to believe there are no consequences to anything they do. They cannot be touched, punished or told off. How is this preparing them for a life in the working environment. If a school leaver entered a working environment to learn a trade he would be expected to try his best to learn from those tradesmen teaching him. How would they handle being reprimanded for making mistakes? Would they complain to the manager and if the manager took their side who would they turn to should they complete their training and the manager had to reprimand them for making a mistake? Who could they turn to then? Schools are churning out kids not ready to work, all they want to do is sit and watch tv or play video games, we are letting them down by allowing this to continue. I say bring back corporal punishment in schools, give the teachers back the power they need to teach the kids properly. Allow them to learn that their actions have consequences maybe then we won’t have gangs of kids running around doing what they like because they think they’re untouchable, because that’s what’s happening now, that’s what we’re teaching them. If we change it now before it’s too late then perhaps we can get back to having a worthwhile workforce in the country again. Tradesmen are dropping off, no one wants to learn a trade anymore and if we don’t turn this around in a few years this country won’t have any one who can do the basic jobs that were common place when I was growing up, no one to do the jobs that made this country great. I would like to get back to that, wouldn’t you?

About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

