Writer’s beware

There’s an old saying that says, ‘you get what you paid for’. This is more relevant for today’s writers who are trying to make a name for themselves. Many people will offer to help for free or for a fee that’s next to nothing. I say to these upcoming writers, beware, as in the saying, you get what you paid for and when offered something for free generally what you get is nothing.

I’ve been stung by this tactic three times now and you think I’d have learned my lesson by now, ‘fool me once, shame on you, fool me twice shame on me. That doesn’t apply, not fully anyway, you see I’m the type of person that believes if someone says they’ll do something, it doesn’t matter what, they should go along and do the thing, or at least come up with an explanation that stands up under scrutiny. I have never agreed to something I know I can’t do, if I give my word I will do it and I expect others to have the same morality, code, whatever you want to call it.

Any writer who has written a book and is looking for publicity then the best advice I can give is prepare a budget, see how much you can afford and then look for the best in the field who is available. Check out their track record before signing on the dotted line to ensure they can actually deliver on their promises. I’ve wasted far too much time waiting for people who claim they can help all because I didn’t have the budget to seek out professional help. That is probably why my sales figures are not where I would’ve liked them to be despite the 4 to 5 star reviews each of my books have earned.

There you have it, some useful advice to any writer starting out. I hope it comes in handy and if you are a writer just starting out, good luck.

About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

