The elephant in the room time paradox

I’ve loved comics since I first learned to read and one of the very first I ever bought was a copy of the Flash back in the early sixties. Ever since I read that story I was hooked on everything DC and then Marvel. I had an impressive collection that my parents made me give away when I reached high school because they said I was too old for that type of comic. If I had kept them I would be quite wealthy now as they were some of the most sought after comics in recent years. That’s not the point of this article though. That, I’ll come to in a bit.

My interest in the super hero genre never left me and is still as strong today as it was back then. Now the whole super hero thing has become a huge money making machine with them branching out into graphic novels, tv shows and huge blockbuster movies. My point is connected to the recent Flash tv series starring Grant Gustin as Barry Allen, the Flash. The entire first season was set up to show how Barry became the Flash. How Doctor Wells particle accelerator blew up spreading dark matter throughout the city thus forming the meta humans and of course, the Flash. Doctor Wells though was actually Eobard Thawne, the Reverse Flash who had travelled back in time to kill Barry’s mother hoping to prevent him becoming the Flash. Complicated I know, but it gets worse. After killing Barry’s mother the Reverse Flash is trapped in his past with only one way to travel back to his time which was to utilise the Flash’s Speed Force. So in trying to prevent Barry becoming the Flash Thawne finds himself becoming the thing that makes the Flash. The final episode in the series sees Barry and Thawne go toe to toe with Thawne getting the upper hand until Eddie Thawne, a distant relative of Eobard’s joins the fight and kills himself thus preventing Eobard from being born.

Now here’s the thing. If Eobard never existed, he would never travel back in time to kill Barry’s mother. Barry’s whole life would have completely changed and so would everyone’s who he knew. The entire timeline that held that story line would have been eradicated similar to when Wolverine travelled back in time to prevent the sentinels taking over the planet and killing all the Xmen in Days of Future Past. When the events in the past altered and took a different path the future timeline never existed. Surely something along those lines should have taken place in the Flash and yet they carried on regardless. They mourned Eddie’s death and Barry’s mum was still dead, even though the man who killed her ceased to exist.

I suppose if they had followed the logic behind the death of Eddie Thawne it would have been a bold move on the series makers part because they would have to reinvent the series from scratch. With Eobard Thawne being erased from existence all the events that took place in the twenty two episodes before this one would have been wiped off the record. For continuities sake I suppose they did what they did and hoped no one would ask the obvious question. Or maybe someone already has and the answer is extremely clever and I just never got to hear about it.

Nevertheless, I’ll still be watching the show as it is one of the best on tv at the moment and I can indulge my geekiness to the fullest.

About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

