The culling of Mankind

The culling of wildlife is an emotive issue, one that can polarize opinions throughout the nation but that is not going to be the point of this article. As a writer I had a thought concerning the issue, one which took it on a different direction. Culling of wildlife is a fact, it happens and there is nothing I can do about it even if I wanted to, that is not the point. What if mankind was culled?

What if Earth was a huge nature reserve that was under the control of another intelligent species? Surely there would be reason for them to cull us. We have seen arguments that population is out of control and that the planet is rapidly reaching the point where it no longer would have the capability to sustain us. Popular novelist James Rollins used that point in one of his books entitled the Sixth Extinction. There have been studies to support claims that we are reaching the planets tipping point in regards to sustainability so surely there would be a case for this other species, our controllers as it were to cull us. In the past this has happened for different reasons, one was the holocaust during the second world war where the Jewish population was sent to gas chambers in horrific circumstances. Whatever the reasons for this, it was in some way a cull and I use this as an example to illustrate the point and nothing more. I mean no offense to those who suffered during those years. Looking at this through those eyes though how would we feel if we were the ones about to be culled by a species unknown to us. As a writer it would make a great premise for a novel, one I am seriously considering. On a different note it wouldn’t have to be an other worldly species, it could be a rogue government who decided to make the longevity of our species their mandate. There are enough conspiracy theorists out there who probably think this is a viable subject for consideration and this is also a great premise for a novel. Let’s be clear on this though, I am not suggesting that this should happen. I am pondering the ramifications should an outside force chose to use this option looking on this world from an outsiders perspective.

Amazing what thoughts come to you while you’re lying in bed trying to get to sleep. I suppose that’s why I’m a writer, I think it’s called imagination.

About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

