Hollywood’s grip on a cash cow is slipping

During my recent city break I went to see the new Jurassic World movie and before I go any further I must admit I enjoyed every insane; stupid, ludicrous minute of it. Having said that you have to wonder when Hollywood will lose their grip on a cash cow such as this franchise? Will sanity ever prevail and will they allow something like this to die a normal death, I think not.

Spoiler Alert; for those of you who haven’t seen the movie I suggest you look away because for the purpose of this post I will be discussing certain aspects of the story.

I’ve seen on the internet various theories of who certain characters are and what their motivations are and there are various nods to the previous movies, which I quite liked and I think this is where the problem lies for me. If they hadn’t made so many references to the earlier movies then I think this would have worked quite well as a complete reboot of the series. Because they made this as another entry into the series and had made so many references to the earlier work it sort of made the plot nonsensical.

In the first movie the park is set up with good intentions which they later learn in hindsight was a bad idea in a very long line of bad ideas. They hadn’t learned their lesson by the end of this movie so they tried again, then yet again. So by this movie you were left wondering, “What could possibly go wrong?” This was obviously a hypothetical question because we all know the answer, everything.

Now I know for this type of movie to work you have to suspend belief, which I’m quite prepared to do for the sake of a good few hours entertainment but it beggars the question, how long can this go on? How long will Hollywood carry on with this action before sanity prevails and they allow franchises such as this one and maybe Terminator, another series that despite all the wow flash bang and wallop of the new movie is showing signs of strain, to die a natural death.

For me Jurassic Park was a fantastic movie and should have ended there. For me there was no need to try and do it bigger or better. Each time they attempt this they detract from the impact the first movie made and they erode its unique quality.

Now all this may sound a little hypocritical of me seeing as how I am writing a book series and I would have to agree somewhat. I have no qualms about making a series of movies on the same subject, one of my favourite franchises is the Bond movies. With this particular series though, even though it was showing signs of wear and tear it bounced back bigger and better than ever, as I’m sure many of us are hoping the new Star Wars movie does with that franchise. If these movies are done well then they will entertain and the Hollywood bosses will remain happy as the cash flows but when they show signs that they are running out of ideas and the plots are simply one long WTF moment then in my opinion, it’s time to lay it to rest.

Jan

About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

