A bolt out of the blue

I have a confession to make, I like the tv show Castle. This is something that infuriates my fiancee because she finds it vapid and ridiculous. I’m not even sure why I like it but there is something about the show that appeals. I first started watching it when it started, the new vehicle for Nathan Fillion, from Firefly, a favourite show of mine. In it he plays a writer asked to consult with a New York cop about a case scarily similar to one of his books. Not a bad premise but then they throw in the inevitable ‘will they won’t they’ scenario for the two leads, Castle the writer and Beckett the gorgeous New York cop. I’ve watched this relationship develop throughout the series’ run and last night they got married. I think this is part of why I like the show, the goofy guy gets the gorgeous girl, now I know Fillion is a handsome dude but his character is supposed to be the antithesis of what Beckett would go for, or at least that’s how I see it. So for him to get the girl gives guys like me hope.

Last night as I watched them get married and exchange vows expressing their love for each other I wondered if my two main characters, Kurt Stryder and Zara Hardy would ever get married. Alistair Maclean once said that he never put sex into any of his books because it slowed the action down. My priority in writing the Col Sec series is to give the reader a rollicking good ride of an adventure thriller. The last thing I would want to do is slow down the pacing so I have to be careful how I handle the relationships between my characters. In a book of this nature it is a difficult trick to capture, you have to balance just how much character development you allow without detracting from the action. It helps with it being a series which means I can drip feed details of this nature at a slower pace. When I wrote Ronin I had no idea it was going to turn into a series so I tried to tie up all the loose ends and end it fully but as in life, things rarely end with a full stop.

That was why Kurt and Zara fell in love by the end of the first book, an accusation of it being too fast was thrown at me by one reviewer. Now I don’t know about anyone else but I have fallen in love very quickly, in fact I would say that I have experienced love at first sight. I think most of us have experienced at some point that jolt that comes like a bolt out of the blue when we lay eyes on someone and think, “Wow!” It can happen at any time and sometimes with just a glance. So for my two leads to realise they are in love towards the end of a book after spending a few days in an intense situation together is not too unrealistic. As for will they ever get married? That’s something you will have to stick with the series to find out.

So guys, keep reading

Jan.

About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

