Could we eradicate natural wear and tear, or should we?

As the years accumulate and I see far more of this road I travel called life behind me than I do before me I began to think about wear and tear. The body, just as anything in life has a finite number of years allotted to it and at some point we can expect it to wear out and die. This was brought home painfully to me recently as I visited my Mum in the hospital where she was recovering from a nasty dose of pneumonia. As I sat looking at this frail old lady, holding her hand telling her that I loved her and willing her to get better, I started to remember her in her younger days. I had memories of her and my father when they were young and vibrant and I thought of how young I was back then and how the years had treated me in between. I am showing defineite signs of wear and tear too. It’s something that comes to us all, a phrase I think we’ve all heard at some point and never more true than in regarding my point.

Medical science has come a remarkable way in the few years since I was born and this also got me thinking about the future. In the Col Sec series medical advancements had ensured that people live longer but not just longer, have more vitality too enabling them to have a better quality of life. Then there are those in the Wildfire Initiative who have the ability to regenerate, Kurt Stryder and Zara Hardy. These two individuals now have the remarkable ability to totally regenerate from almost impossible injuries to totally heal themselves. This has not yet been tested to the fullest, but the series is still young yet and as my  wicked imagination conjures up more ways to torture them I’m sure those tests will be forthcoming.

What would it be like though to have some measure of that ability? We all have the ability to heal ourselves but their’s is just enhanced to an inhuman level. Think of the medical advancements that could be made where diseases are concerned if this was something that could be harnessed. Diseases such as AIDs, Cancer and Hepatitis would be a thing of the past as would viruses such as Ebola and many more.

What would it do to our quality of life though if we were free from disease and injury? The simple answer would be it would enable us to enjoy more, be more adventurous but would it? If the threat of injury was taken away from our daily lives how would we view our existence? Would we cherish it still as being wonderful and a gift or would we cease to care?

The finite time we are on this planet is for a reason, to continue the cycle of life, in death we nourish the ground from which all life stems. It is as natural as breathing but what would happen if we broke that cycle?

I don’t know about you but I have grave reservations.

Jan.

About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

