Labels by definition

Hi there,

I’ve always hated labels, I would never buy anything just because of the label attached to it. I would much prefer to buy something because of the quality but it’s strange how so many of us are defined by such things. Society, or rather marketing companies tell us that quality is synonymous with certain labels, so we tend to gravitate toward them, if the purse allows. What we eat, drink, wear and other aspects of our lives, even what we read, depend upon these labels. These labels extend to other areas of our lives too. This probably started back when we were in school. To make it through this glorious yet trying time most of us had to fit into a sub sect of the microcosm that is school life. When I was in school this was not so prevalent, or at least not as defined as today. Yes there were the people who studied hard(nerds), and those who liked sports(jocks)  but I never bothered to try to fit into any of them as I had friends in both.

This can be said about my writing too. I have always struggled to fit the Col Sec series into any genre of writing. At the moment it’s listed as SciFi in the Amazon lists but I’m not totally comfortable with that. It’s not because the books are not SciFi, they clearly are but they could also quite easily fit into the Action Adventure slot as well. There are certain fantasy elements in the books as there is also thrills and suspense so I think you can see my point.

The Col Sec series are fast paced adventures with lots of action, car chases, gun battles, things getting blown up and there is also travel to far off different worlds. I used the novels of Matthew Reilly, James Rollins and Jeremy Robinson as a model for the pacing. I also used them for some of the character dynamics too. The books aren’t as visceral as the Spiral series by Andy Remic but that’s not to say there isn’t blood and gore because there is, and just as he set his series in a far future so is mine.

I suppose the only label I would be comfortable placing on the series would be Cross Genre.

There you have it my label by definition for the Col Sec series, Cross Genre. I don’t suppose Amazon will oblige by placing the series in a category on its own but there you go anyway.

Until next time,

Jan.

About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

