Naked Women here

Hi there,

now that I have your attention,

don’t you just hate it when you look at your Twitter notifications and you have a slew of new followers only to learn that they all want to connect so you’ll buy their book/video/marketing campaign or whatever?

This has been one of the major drawbacks for me in using this platform. In the past I have gone on record as saying I could not see the viability of it as a marketing tool but recently I have had to alter my opinion slightly. I was viewing the situation from a very narrow perspective, not seeing the larger picture. Now though I have begun to see the broader outlines associated with using Twitter.

At its heart it is a social media platform and I think that’s the best and probably the only way to look at it. If you try to see it as a sales platform then, like me you’ll probably fail. As a social platform it can be engaging but it has to be used right and that means finding when the people you want to connect with are using it too. This can be a frustrating task but there is a way around it as most people who are conversant with Twitter already know, you can program your tweets to be sent at any time you desire.

I see a lot of people on there who are desperately trying to push their wares, whether it be books or videos or just merely opinions they blanket their tweets in sales speak pushing you to buy this or that, it’s very frustrating especially if you just want to say “Hi,”

In this regard I’ve tried to temper my own tweets by posting random comments mostly just hoping someone will comment on some of them. Occasionally I’ll drop in a promotional tweet about my new book, Discovery, Book Three in the Col Sec series, but mostly I try to be social.

This is the long game. To use Twitter successfully you have to engage your followers, make them more than followers, turn them into fans. People who listen to every word you utter so that when you mention anything about the next thing you’re selling, they are immediately interested. I call it a long game because that’s what it is. It won’t happen overnight it will take time just the same as building a relationship.

That’s what I’m doing, being social in the hope of building a relationship with you all. Hoping to turn you into followers and from there into fans.

Jan

About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

