Publishing woes

My recent foray into reports about the publishing industry has left me feeling a little jaded.

The report that put me in such a state was about a talk an author was giving at a book fair. He had recently acquired a three book deal and was telling the audience the fails that self publishing authors were making. Some of the points he made were obvious and unfortunately mistakes I’ve made. The traditional publishers have the market pretty much sown up, but times are changing. Another report stated that self publishing has taken an increase in the market this last year and is on the increase.

Traditional publishers are known to wine and dine respective bloggers and reviewers when one of their authors books is due for release. It’s a form of bribery to get positive reviews posted on Amazon perhaps the largest book seller in the world. How can a self published author hope to compete with that kind of muscle? Don’t get me wrong, there are some that have achieved success going by this route and I would love to know how they did it. I’m sure that being in the right place at the right time, or knowing the right people has something to do with it. That’s not being cynical, just realistic.

I’ve had to give out copies of my books to get reviews from certain people and to be brutally honest I find it more than a little insulting. This is the only industry I know of that this is done. I certainly would never take my car for a service, expect not to pay on the assumption I would tell everyone how good a job they’d done. So in future if anyone asks if I want a review and expects a free copy I will inform them quite clearly to buy a copy of the book like anyone else.

A piece of advice I read long ago still holds true, and that is for a writer to be successful they must write and continue to write. So from now on I will follow that golden rule. I will write as much as I can and let the chips fall where they may. I still have expectations that my books will find the readership they deserve and until that happens I will continue to write.

See you soon.

Jan.

About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

