How to sell Books online?

Hi there,

I recently read a report which filled me with dread. It was a repot on how to sell books. The part that filled me with dread was the detailed list of things that most writers do thinking it helps to sell books and to my chagrin I do all of them.

I employ someone to market my work simply because of time and ability constraints. I have no marketing knowledge except that it’s extremely difficult and I do not have the time to pursue gaining such knowledge. I have a full time job and in what spare time I have left between that and my life in general I try to fill with writing. One tenet of writing and being successful I have always adhered to is to write. Success does not happen to a writer who does not write. So marketing has to be left to a professional. So far the marketing has been focused upon building my readership and following on Twitter, trying to get reviews and such. The report stated that these methods are ineffectual though. This is what filled me with dread. Have I spent all that hard earned money on wasted effort?

The report went on to mention that Facebook sabotage writers on their author page by not delivering their posts to the fans unless the writers pay for them to be boosted. This I have seen on my own page, the most I have reached on any of my posts without being boosted is a whopping 40. This is ludicrous and to me a company like Facebook that is making money hand over fist should pay some of that forward and help out writers who use their service. They should encourage talent instead of hijacking their pages and holding them to ransom. It’s a sad indictment of today’s society when the mighty dollar is more important than developing talent. Surely if they encouraged more talent then more people would use their service. I think Facebook only get’s away with this behaviour because there is no alternative to the service they provide. I see complaints on a daily basis from people who rant on and on about what a crap service they provide but seeing as how they are the only provider they don’t see a need for them to listen. After all, where else are you going to go?

Having said all that I am left with nothing left to do but hope. Nothing as yet seemed to work in regard to transferring followers to fans to readers to buyers so I must carry on with the only thing I seem capable of achieving and that is to write. When I started down this road looking for success I knew it would be a long one.I knew it would be fraught with difficulties that would challenge my resolve but I’m still here, still walking. One day I will reach the end and on that day I hope to see you all there with me.

See you soon

Jan.

About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

