Writer’s who can’t let go.

Hi there,

I recently saw an article about how many authors tend to write books in a series and thought I’d give my viewpoint on the issue.

When I set out to write Ronin I had no idea what I was starting. I had no intention of turning it into a series and was quite content to make it a one off story. I would write it then put it to bed and move on to another story.

What I found though was that I’d invested a lot of time and commitment to the story. I had begun to know my characters as you would real people. I knew their motivations, their back story, even if parts of it were not mentioned in the book I knew it anyway. When I finished the book I sat there thinking, “I wonder what they’d do next?” I started to wonder where they would go from where they’d been left, how would they cope with all the changes I, in my God-like wisdom had invested them with?

The longer this went on the harder it was for me to write about anything else. In the end I succumbed to it and sat down to write the next book. This one did not feature Kurt Stryder, the hero of Ronin. Where I left him at the end of the first book was a place of uncertainty as his future was concerned, so I chose Matt Hawk as the protagonist.

At the end of that book I added a scene which would link with the book that followed and it was a way of bringing Kurt back. Once that book was done I had a series and at least three other ideas for books to follow on. I couldn’t leave this series now if I wanted to. I know all the characters almost as well as I know my own family, probably better for I have total control over them, I sometimes wish I had that control over my family, life would be so much easier lol.

So there you have it, my reason why I can’t let go and just had to write a series.

See you next time

Jan.

About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

