Dark, gritty yet unfullfilling.

Hi there,

I don’t know if you’ve seen the fan film about the Power Rangers but for a fan film the quality is excellent. It’s very dark and moody with plenty of grit and I’ve seen it a couple times now. The first time I watched it I was blown away by the concept of taking teenagers and turning them into these super powered warriors in an inter galactic war. The short film takes a moment to look at how those teenagers would cope with adulthood as the war they waged was ultimately lost.

It is a strange take on something that was considered campy and just for young kids but never the less a bold move on the film makers part.

Ultimately though it leaves one feeling empty and I wondered why this was.

Now this is just my own opinion and others may differ but each time I watched this short film, even though I enjoyed it on some level I also felt cheated and extremely unfulfilled. I took a moment to ponder this and the only reason I can think of is that in the end evil wins. Evil is not supposed to win. In every story we were told as a kid, in all the sanitised versions of fairy stories we grew up reading, or watching on either tv or in the cinema, evil does not win. Good always triumphs over evil, the guy gets the girl and they go off into the sunset to live happily ever after.

We all know that in real life it hardly ever happens that way but in fiction of any description a happy ending is more satisfying simply because it gives us hope. It allows us the belief, whether right or wrong, that when we wake every morning the world will be a better place.

As I said earlier, this is just my opinion but I would like to think I’m not alone in the world thinking this. The more of us who think this way gives us a chance to make the world a better place just by believing. The alternative is to live in a world depicted in these films where evil triumphs. Something to think about surely.

See you soon.

Jan.

About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

