A Call to Arms

Hi there,

writing about the military can be daunting at the best of times. There are so many aspects of its structure to get right and there are so many supporters, quite rightly of the good work those involved do that to get the smallest detail wrong is considered an insult by some.

I took the easy route when considering placing some of my characters in Col Sec as part of the military, I chose to set the books five hundred odd years in the future. My reasoning for this was twofold. I considered how soldiers react within a set group, how they interact with each other, their speech and I also considered the technological advances made in the military over the last century. If you took two soldiers, one from the Crimean War and another from a present day conflict and allowed them to talk to one another about tactics and equipment I dare say the older soldier wouldn’t have a clue about anything the present day soldier said. Extrapolate that further and take a look at soldiers five hundred years from now and who knows what they would sound like, what idioms and abbreviations they would use and I certainly wouldn’t have a clue as to the tactics they would employ and anyone who said they could would be deluding themselves.

The easy route for me when the call to arms sounded was to place my characters in an environment I could understand, one that I hoped the reader could relate to also. I kept the military aspects simple, more of a generic military than any specific one as I envisioned a united force in the future where all aspects came under the same umbrella and therefore one command. I knew this would upset some people but it’s something every writer understands when going forward that the old axiom is often true, you can’t please all the people all the time.

In closing I hope Discovery, my newest book to be relaunched meets with approval, I hope you enjoy this book as the wild ride it’s meant to be because there are plenty more adventures to come.

See you soon,

Jan.

About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

