Ghost writers

Hi there,

I recently picked up a copy of Boyd Morrison’s the Vault because I’d read that he had taken over the writing chores of the Oregon series with Clive Cussler so I thought I’d check out his work before my copy of Piranha arrived.

I wanted to see if I could differentiate between the two authors writing styles. There are a few top authors who employ ghost writers to write their books now. I don’t think these books are co-written like it implies on the front covers, in my opinion they are written by the other author. James Patterson has been doing this for a while now, Cussler has four other series on the go as well his flagship series the inimitable Mr Pitt.  Even Jeremy Robinson who is quite new to the game has at least two writers working with or for him. Robert Ludlum has three of his ongoing series still consistantly selling well long after his death It’s a crafty move  if you think about it, having authors who work in the same genre as you write your books for you, it ties up the competition and earns money for you at the same time.

I can’t decide whether I think it’s cheating the readership, allowing them think that their favourite author has written a book, or not. Most readers nowadays are savvy individuals and know the difference between a copy and the real thing and the writers working on these books know their craft and that’s why they sell so well still.

I will continue to read these books as long as the quality of the writing and story telling remains at the high level it is today. One day I hope to be in the position to employ others to write books for me, while I sit back after giving out the basic idea and plot to reap the many benefits. That is a long way off though, maybe never.

Until next time, enjoy life

Jan.

About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

