Disillusioned but not defeated

Hi there,

things have not gone as well as I’d hoped with my writing career so I have come to a decision.

My dream of earning a living as a writer has been an uphill struggle as every aspiring writing can attest to. The writing aspect has never been an issue, what has held me back has  been the marketing of said writing. Not having the experience or contacts in the industry or a big enough budget to work with has hampered my progress no end. I’ve tried Facebook and Twitter but the sales just have not been forthcoming.

I am basically a shy person who does not like to brag about any achievements I’ve made and the realisation that to make it at all in this industry you have to push yourself, something I am not comfortable doing. How can I push my writing when I have no sales to back up any claim. Someone said to me that you push yourself to get the sales but everything I’ve tried so far has been ineffective. Reviews are crucial  to any books success and this has been another stumbling block for me. I have failed to even get reviews from family members so how can I persuade others to do something that even close family members have been reluctant to do.

This has nothing to do with the quality of the writing and more to do with apathy from said family members. I know this may come across as sour grapes from someone who doesn’t deserve to succeed and there may be some truth to that but I honestly don’t care because I doubt anyone will read this post anyway.

All this does not mean that I will give up writing but quite the opposite. All I’m doing is coming to terms with the fact that I may never sell anything. I will continue to write because it’s something I love to do. I still have the friends who have helped with the cover artwork and the editing and I hope to continue with their aid for as long as they are willing to help. The Col Sec series will continue, I’m already working on book 6 with plans for future books. Part of me still hopes that somewhere, someone will check out these stories and enjoy them as much as I do but I have to be practical.

Matthew Reilly, one of my favourite authors says “Never underestimate the power of your encouragement.” unfortunately I have never felt that power.

Jan.

About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

