Discovery

Hi there,

When I sat down to write Ronin I started with my main character, Kurt Stryder. I pictured what he looked like and what type of person he would be and when he was fully formed in my mind I set out to write his story. I knew I wanted him to be this good guy who stood up for his beliefs and throughout Ronin that is reflected in his actions. When Zara is taken by Norsky Kurt goes to her aid, not because he has any feelings for her but because if it had not been for him, she would not have been in that situation in the first place. It is not out of any sense of duty that he gives in to Norsky’s demands but because it is simply the right thing to do.

At the end of the book we see Kurt come to a decision and for him it’s a momentous one. He is aware of how he has changed, of what he is capable of and is afraid of how, should that ability be put to a military purpose, would affect the galaxy. His decision at the end of the book is the only one he could possibly make and keep a clear conscience.

It is the right thing to do.

In Omega Kurt is nowhere to be seen. When I left Kurt at the end of Ronin I wasn’t sure I had a good enough story for him so I put him on a back burner to sort out what he wanted to do with his life and it gave me the opportunity to concentrate on Matt Hawk for a while. Omega was, for me an extremely satisfying book to write. For a long time I had wanted to write a James Bond type of book and for me, Omega is just that. It allowed me to pay homage to all the things I love about the Bond movies without plagiarizing them but at the same time keep the story within the Col Sec Universe. At the end of Omega, Matt thinks he spots a figure in the crowd, someone he recognises, or thinks he does which leads us to the opening scene in Discovery.

At the start of Discovery Kurt appears at the memorial at the end of Omega. He went to pay his respects and is torn between his guilt at not helping and the consequences what would have happened if he had. He is still in a hard place in his life, unsure of a direction and so decides to get away from it all, to go somewhere to think. He is financially stable so his choice is to go on a luxury cruise.

As we all know, these things rarely go well and with him being the hero of the story he invariably finds trouble, or trouble finds him.

His choice of vacation turns out to be fortuitous for he is in the right place at the right time to discover the truth about a secret that had been kept for decades and also about the path he should take in life.

In this book we see Kurt at a point in his life where he is unsure what to do, and as the story unfolds we see him realise something he momentarily forgot. His motivation for joining Recon Delta was something his father told him when he was very young, but old enough to understand. His father told him that for evil to triumph all that is required is for good men to do nothing. Kurt had joined the military to help prevent evil from triumphing, a noble act by someone who is essentially a good man. His walking away from Col Sec is him doing nothing, in effect reneging on his promise to his father. In Discovery, when he sees the events unfold and the danger those around him are facing he cannot stand by and do nothing, he has to act.

Here’s the description of the book from my website

http://jan-domagala.co.uk/books.php#discovery

Discovery will be available soon.

That’s all for now, see you soon,

Jan.

About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

