Inspiration

Hi there,

I was asked the other day, “What inspired me to write?”

Inspiration, as defined by the Collins English Dictionary is “stimulation or arousal of the mind, feelings, etc, to special or unusual activity or creativity,” so I had to think if there was one definitive act that inspired me, not only to write but to write the Col Sec series.

Ever since I could read and write I always had either a book nearby or some writing or drawing materials near at hand. Throughout school my hobby was drawing comics, I was a huge fan of Marvel and DC and I used to create my own comics. As I got older I became frustrated with the time it took to tell a story with pictures. During the time it took to draw, ink and colour one page in a comic you could write the whole story, or almost anyway.

When I left school I wanted to be a journalist but didn’t have the qualifications and because of other commitments found myself in a job I still do today. Writing took a holiday for a while as real life invaded my dreams and took over but was always in the back of my mind. I was dabbling with a few ideas when my father passed away which hit me harder than I thought the death of a loved one ever could. To get through it I got lost in my writing for a while, used it as a sort of therapy.

This may come across as just rambling thoughts but the point I’m trying to make, probably not very well, is that there may not be one definitive act that inspired me to write unless you consider life in general a definitive act in that regard. Writing, or story telling is something that I have always done in some form or other, whether it be in the form of art or the act of writing down my thoughts, it has always been there. I can not think of one day when I haven’t had an idea running around in my head that made me think, “I must get that down on paper,”

My present series is the culmination of years of odd stories, that never seemed to go anywhere, that would start but have no middle or end all coming into focus, mixed with my love of science fiction and action movies. The description is the inspiration in itself.

I don’t know if that has answered the question simply because for me, I’m not sure there is a right answer to the question.  Inspiration is a wonderful thing, it can move us to do extraordinary things, to become more than we thought we were capable of and personally whatever inspired me to write, I am truly thankful. Without writing my life would be extremely dull and unfulfilled and through it I hope I can enrich others.

See you soon

Jan.

About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

