New Book, New Direction.

Hi there,

The Col Sec series is into it’s sixth full length book and I find myself at somewhat of a loss. All the previous books have had a continuous thread running through them. Now though because I have ended that thread I find myself struggling a little with the new storyline. I’m not sure if it’s because of something in the story, having to create new characters and environments for them to play in or if it’s because my mind is elsewhere.

Before when I was writing the other books when I started a fresh one, because they all, more or less featured the same set of characters it was like visiting family but this new book is different. That familiarity is missing, and I know you’ll say that not all the characters are new, surely some of the established characters, your core characters. This is true, my core group remain but the others are a bit of a struggle. I want them to be worthy adversaries to my core group, I want them to come off the page, be vibrant and for the reader to either love them or hate them depending on which side they come down on.

I may be distracted though by the online PR campaign that is running for Ronin, the first in the series which I relaunched recently. This is something that is completely new to me having to market the work. As a writer I love to produce the work but when it comes time to market it, then that’s another story altogether. I hate talking about myself, I hate the limelight and would be quite happy if I could blend into the background to just get on with the writing. To be a success though I have to come out of the shadows and tread carefully into the glare of others. To be able to do this I had to employ someone who knows better than me the strategy behind a successful book launch.

It’s early days yet but so far so good, and that’s all I am prepared to say on this at the moment. I’m just going to sit back and see what happens and in the meantime get back to writing.

See you soon,

Jan.

About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

