Creation of a Legend

Hi there,

I recently relaunched the Col Sec series from the beginning and as I sit at home busy writing the next book in the series I realised that I was missing something. I had the story all laid out, I had the characters listed so that I knew who was in and what their purpose was in the story, but that wasn’t it. My laptop was all powered up, I had a drink to hand (nothing alcoholic, much too early in the day for that) and I had my notes to hand so that wasn’t it either. Then I realised what was missing.

It was nothing to do with what I was doing at the present but all to do with what I had to do in the future.

If I wanted the relaunch to be successful I had to come up with a marketing strategy, not just any stategy but one that would work. Like most writers I know that writing the book is just a small percentage of the success of that piece of work. What comes after is just as important and if you want it to succeed you have to do it right.

I can’t speak for other writers but I find marketing and promotional work boring and tedious but it is just as integral to the success of a book as writing a story that compels the reader to turn the page. I find the term ‘page turner’ to be one of those over used terms like, ‘awesome’ and well you get my drift but if a writer really wants to produce that kind of interest in their work then what happens after the final draft is completed and they are satisfied with what they have done is vital to that success.

All the successful writers, those who have created legends in the literary world have had the publishing houses do all this work for them but now with the increase in popularity of the self publishing industry many writers have found themselves having to do this work themselves. If I want to create such a legend then I too must enter this arena.

So, this is it, this is me preparing to enter this battlefield. I have done my preparation so here I go.

Wish me luck.

See you soon

Jan.

 

 

About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

