Loneliness of the long distance writer.

Hi there,

writing has been a passion of mine for some time now and as most writers I dream of hitting the big time. The time when I could walk into any book store and see my books displayed proudly for all to see. I dream of sitting behind a desk in one of those stores on the day of release of my latest book to greet my readers and sign their copy of the book.

I’m a long way off from that yet and at times I wonder if I’ll ever reach that exciting point in a writers career. At the moment I’m very much in the early stages of my career, still at the point where I’m trying to reach my audience.

I’ve had reviews and the majority of them have been positive, the only negative review I had was when I first published Ronin, the first book in the Col Sec series. That review really hurt when I first saw it but after the pain had subsided and I clinically went over it I realised there were some salient points made. I took the book and did an overhaul of it, almost a complete rewrite, including changing the front cover artwork before resubmitting it to the publisher. To this day, and I’m about to publish a third edition of the book, that review remains on Amazon’s site despite my commenting on it and asking the administrators to take it down as it is no longer relevant.

This experience tends to make me think  that as I sit at home writing, I could be the only person left alive. I’m trying to communicate with the remnants of a civilisation that no longer cares. I know it not to be true but the life of a writer is a solitary one and it is only until they connect with their readers that they realise just what an impact they make on them.

Modern technology is wonderful, I can sit at home and chat to someone on the other side of the world either by text or video but it doesn’t make the world any smaller or any the less lonely for those who can’t connect. I am thankful, as any writer is for those readers who take the time out of their day to read what I write. Having said that, I don’t write for anyone else other than myself. I write because I have to. I cannot see the day when I don’t write something, or at least think about writing something. I write the kind of book that I would like to read and the fact that other people read them as well is indescribably wonderful. With this modern technology I hope to reach more readers so that I can one day sit behind that desk and sign a few books for anyone who cares to show up.

Until then I’ll keep on writing

See you soon

Jan. 

About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

