There is no substitute for experience.

Hi there,

something occurred to me the other day as I was contemplating my writing chores and it was something that I had read about ages ago. It was a snippet of advice from a writer that was being interviewed on the TV. He said that you should always write about what you know, things that you have experienced.

The thought that occurred to me was how does that relate to a writer of science fiction?

How can anyone write about space travel or alien species or any of the other paraphernalia that populates science fiction stories if you haven’t experienced it?

Another question then formed in my addled mind which was, how much of a background in the sciences does a writer need to be able to write a science fiction story?

I think the key word here is ‘fiction’ at least I hope it is because in my work I try to keep the science to a minimum simply because I am no scientist. I do what research I think I need on certain aspects of the story and I hope that the story is engaging enough for the reader to get past the more fantastic elements.

This is a good question to ask though I think, just to see what the average reader thinks. Should the writer of a science fiction story have a background knowledge of the sciences or is it enough for them to do the research necessary?

I’ll leave it open to discussion for anyone interested.

That’s all for now,

see you soon,

Jan.

About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

