Substance vs Fluff.

Hi there,

I was listening to the radio this morning on my way to work and there was a lot of talk about the Brit awards taking place tonight. It made me think about some of the artists around today and after hearing Dido’s latest offering I began to wonder how someone like her or Katie Melua would get on if they were not famous already and had auditioned for a show like ‘The Voice’. In my opinion if either of them had to rely solely on their musical talent, such as their voices then I feel they would fail. There is no doubt that both of them are good-looking women and I’m sure that fact did not hinder their rise to popularity at all. There are more artists I could mention such as Beyonce who to my mind are in the same category, mediocre talent bolstered by good management and good looks. Ultimately though it is the difference between a light snack and a three course meal, indulging in good talent is like having a hearty meal compared to a light bite with some of those I mentioned.

The same can be said of some of today’s crop of writing talent. I’ve recently been trying out a few new authors, new to me that is and I must say that although some of them are very good,  a few that come across as bland as a light bite compared to the full meal that the likes of a Robert Ludlum would offer. I’m deliberately not naming anyone because I don’t think it would be fair to them. These authors have worked hard to get where they are, some harder than others obviously and I would not want to rain on anyone’s parade. However they got to where they are now I say “Good luck” to them and “Well done”

As a writer I strive to perfect my craft every time I sit down to write, whether it be my blog, the book I’m working on at the moment or a simple email. I hope I improve with every word I write but that’s for my readers to decide.

See you soon,

Jan.

 

About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

