Why I hate Twitter.

 

Hi there,

since I started writing the Col Sec series I realised to market the books I would have to engage in using tools that I would not necessarily use, such as Twitter and Facebook among others.

I tried to use Twitter and I hear of people who are constantly on the network, so I tried to emulate their efforts. I began to follow those whom I thought might be helpful t my career as a writer and my marketing tactics to sell the books. In return I’ve received follows from over six hundred and sixty people who I do not know and will probably never even meet. They contact me with messages of goodwill and links to their own websites to promote their own works and I’m quite sure that they could help me in my endeavours if I helped them in theirs.

What use is Twitter, what can you say in a hundred and forty characters that is of any worth. This tool is doing nothing but help us strangle the English language of which we are so proud.

Over six hundred and sixty people are hanging on my every word on Twitter, or so the admin staff would have you believe and yet I’ve only ever tweeted two hundred and fifty-one times over a three-year period. Some people send more than those in a week and what do they achieve? I’m sure they must get some benefit from it all or they wouldn’t do it, personally I cannot see the point.

I’ll stay on there though but I doubt very much if I’ll ever use it, you see I have a life and if I want to interact with anyone I do it the old school way, I talk to them either face to face or on the phone, old-fashioned I know but I’m a bit of a Ludite and am not much for change.

I wonder if this blog will stir up any fuss, I’ll be interested to see if it does.

See you soon,

Jan.

 

 

About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

