Weather puts kibosh on plans

Hi there,

I had made plans with my editor for him and his family to come over on friday to discus the changes he’d made to Ronin. The idea was we were going to go through the manuscript, implement the changes then upload the finished book, along with the new artwork to Smashwords.com. Well as you can imagine, the weather had other ideas.

I left work at 2pm because I had another appointment at 4pm but because of the snow it took me 2 hours to get 3/4 of the way home. The appointment at 4 had to be re-scheduled obviously and it took me a further 1/2 hour to get home.

The roads from Stoke-on-Trent to where I live in Matlock were absolutely horrendous. Snow had fallen heavily most of the morning which made the roads treacherous to say the least. Traffic was moving, gladly, but at a snail’s pace and as I listened to the radio I heard of accidents happening all over the place. Luckily there were none on my route to slow me down any further.

There was one point when I thought I wouldn’t make it home though. I had left the A53 Leek to Ashbourne road heading towards Onecote. The road was covered in snow and it looked like hardly any traffic had passed through there as there were only a few tire tracks in the snow and it looked really slippery. If I drove a 4×4 I wouldn’t have been worried but as I drive a normal two wheel drive car my heart was in my mouth, especially as you consider that Onecote lies at the bottom of a valley that has twisting roads of at least a 20% gradient on either side. After Oncote there is a further decent via a snake-like twisting series of ‘s’ bends that are even steeper at a gradient of 14%.

This did not look promising.

As I navigated the first descent towards Onecote I saw a Ford Mondeo struggling to climb up the bank. His wheels were spinning and he was hardly making any headway and a queue was forming behind him. The car in front of me pulled over and decided to turn around clearly not fancying his chances any further on that particular road. This gave my a dilemma, should I do the same and pick another route home or chance my luck?

A group of women got out of a car behind the stalled Mondeo, as he was making no headway at all at this point, or at the very most only a few inches at a time. They began to wave me on so I proceeded toward them and asked what the roads were like further on. They told me that they were quite passable and that I just needed to take my time. This gave me heart so I continued and to my surprise once I reached the top of the road leading out of Onecote it became a lot easier. There was still snow but the road was clearer, which just left me that 14% down gradient of winding ‘s’ bends.

The moment I reached the top of that particular, nightmare road I knew I would be alright. There was snow on the fields to either side of the road but none on the road itself so I was able to continue safely breathing much more freely.

Once I reached home around 4.30 I contacted my editor and told him of the conditions of the roads leading to my home. He would be travelling more or less the same roads I had to get to our meeting and after a quick phone discussion we decided to postpone until the following morning. That too, proved to be a problem.

I woke on saturday morning to find we had an electrical fault in the system and had to call someone out to look at it. This meant that my plan to complete the book had to be postponed once more. I began to wonder if fate was against me ever getting this book out.

Anyway the plans have now been re-scheduled for a day after Christmas whereby, hopefully, everything will be completed satisfactorily and Ronin will be out on Smashwords.com.

I look forward to this immensely and I hope it’s worth all the effort that has gone into it. There is a positive to be taken out of all this, last night I was able to concentrate fully on my new project and move it forward. I was pleased with the results and when it’s completed I hope you will be too.

That’s all for now, the run up to Christmas is getting closer and more frantic every day. I hope each and every one of you get’s to spend time with your loved ones and may all your hopes and dreams come true.

See you soon,

Jan.

About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

