Holidays are coming

Hi there,

the year has flown by, again, and the end of the year is almost upon us once more. Today is the last of my holiday’s until we finish for the Christmas break and it’s Christmas shopping day. I’m still fighting my recent dose of manflu which knocked me off my feet, literally so today will be somewhat of an uphill battle but I’m sure it’ll be worth it in the end.

Yesterday was the Christening of my second grandson and it was wonderful to see all the clan together once more, and some faces I hadn’t seen for decades. The actual service aside, it was a fabulous church that dates back to pre-Norman times and as you walked up to it you could almost feel the history that surrounds and permeates through that venerable ancient building. I won’t comment on the service because faith is a personal thing and up to the individual. I’ll just say that it wasn’t to my taste. I’ve been to, what I consider better christening services but I won’t detract from yesterdays because it was my  grandson’s big day and he shone.

I find it almost unnerving when going to church, for whatever reason, be it a wedding, funeral, christening or simply a service, unnerving by the strength and depth of some people’s faith and belief. I was at my uncle’s funeral a few years back and discovered a whole new side to this wonderful man. I always knew he was active in the church but never realised the strength of his belief system.  One of the things that will always stick with me is one of the comments a friend of his made during the service. He said that he was with my uncle at Keswick and they were standing at the top of a hill overlooking the wonderful scenery and he asked my uncle, “How can you believe in God?” My uncle simply replied by pointing out the view and said, “How can you not?”  This led me to a personal search to see if I could find just what it was he saw. I began to go to church for a short period, as I was getting married at the time and I even enrolled in an Alpha Course to see if it would help me find some answers to my unasked questions.

Did I find that which I was searching for? No, I couldn’t get past the blind faith in certain people to take what was written thousands of years ago as gospel when it could very well have been embellished to some degree. Now I’m not saying that you shouldn’t believe in what the church tells you, not by any means. As I said earlier belief is a very personal thing and up to the individual, I however believe in something but at this point I’m still not sure what. What I do know is that I live by certain tenets and always have done. Treat others as you would like to be treated yourself, all life is sacred (which can be quite a challenge when your fear of spiders tells you to lash out and squash the little critter), thou shall not kill or steal or covet thy neighbours wife, these are all basics of right and wrong. I don’t hate someone who believes in something different to me and I certainly would never challenge anyone because of their belief system. What I cannot believe is, that anyone capable of creating all the wonder that surrounds us would create all the hatred we see in the world. That is not His will, it’s purely the will of man.

The older I get the more relevant a line I once read becomes. Someone once said, “I swear there aint no Heaven but I pray there aint no Hell.”

To you all, whatever your belief’s, I hope you have a very happy Christmas and I hope all your hopes and dreams come true in the new year.

See you soon,

Jan.

About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

