It’s a Hard Life.

Hi there,

on my home from work today I was listening to the radio and they played a song picked by a member of the audience in a category called ‘Freedom Track’, the idea being that someone picks a song that they thought epitomised how they felt upon finishing work for their day, hence ‘Freedom’

The track chosen was an oldie, but great track none the same, Lovely Day by Bill Withers.

As I listened to the track I suddenly realised that it summed up quite well how I feel at the moment.

The song says that when the day ahead of me seems impossible to face,

and just lately most days are like that, my life just lately seems to consist of one catastrophe swiftly followed by a calamity with disaster right behind it,

the song goes on to say that you know someone else who always seems to know the way.

I think most of us knows someone like that, that someone who seems to live the charmed life, is not troubled by financial worries, that everything they attempt turns out perfect, the perfect job, the perfect home, perfect kids, perfect everything and they continually run off at the mouth about their holidays, where they went at the weekend, how nice their home is now they’ve done this or that to it blah blah blah. Now I know there’s an awful lot in that past run on sentence. Something writers are supposed to shy away from but I did it deliberately to convey some of the angst and frustration I’ve been feeling of late.

Don’t feel sorry for me, that’s the last thing I need. My God my life is perfect if you compare it to some, especially those living in war-torn areas or those that are famine ridden.

The rest of the song, to get back on topic, says, “Then I look at you, and the world is alright with me. Then I look at you and I know it’s gonna be a lovely day”

My wonderful girlfriend; my family, my son, daughter, their partners and my grandkids all help me to get through this and be able to fight on through. With their help and love I can continue on this wonderful journey called life. To strive to better myself, to continue to grow as both a writer and person.

See you soon

Jan.

About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

