Monumental weekend on the horizon

Hi there,

this weekend could be monumental in so many ways; first and most importantly Stoke City have reached the FA Cup Final for the first time in their history. Now I don’t follow the club but seeing as how I originated from Stoke-on-Trent I thought it only just that I give them a mention and wish them well in their match tomorrow afternoon.

Is it just me or has the FA Cup Final been down graded? I remember when I was growing up Cup Final day took over the tv. You’d get up early, get whatever chores you had finished so that come mid day you all could sit down and watch the build up on tv. You’d watch how each team got through to the final, watch them making preparations, see them arrive in the buses in their new suits and then the match. It was fantastic and it didn’t matter who was playing because you’d always find someone to root for.

Now though, it’s just another match. I actually heard a news reporter on Sky News this morning say that the big match on Saturday is Manchester United to see if they could claim their blah blah championship title blah blah blah, and the other match is the cup final when Manchester City would try to win the cup for the blah blah blah time and then he mentioned that they were playing Stoke who had never won it. They did make up for it by showing a report from the area visiting local businesses who were supporting the team, which was nice.

Anyway, I will hopefully be watching the match on my new tv which arrives the morning of the match, in hi def supporting the Mighty Potters and I hope whatever the rest of you are doing, you enjoy it as much as I will enjoy my day.

The other monumental thing that is happening this weekend is I have to fill in a question and answer section for an interview on a website for indie authors. This is definitely a first for me. When I started writing it was as a hobby but as I thought about trying to get my work published, I suppose as most writers do, you wonder what it would be like to strike it big and have to do signings, interviews and such but I never considered it would happen. Being an indie author, or self published writer I have to do everything that a publishing house would normally do for a writer who had a book coming out in regards to advertising said book, but without the financial backing of said publishing house. So, to have the opportunity of an interview is a god send and one I’m not about to turn down.

I will of course keep you appraised of when it will go online and then if anyone is interested they can check it out.

That’s all for now,

See you soon,

Jan.

About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

