Good news, bad news 2

Hi there,

recently I told you of our misfortune over my girlfriends car trouble and asked the question ‘why does some good news arrive followed closely by a huge amount of bad news’

I think I mentioned also how other people’s troubles make our petty little worries pale by comparison and this morning I woke up to something on the news that illustrated this point to a tee. I, of course refer to the earthquake that devastated Japan in the early hours of friday morning. What better way to illustrate my point, and while I watched the reports on every news channel the worry over the car was pushed completely to the back of my mind as I focussed on the report from Japan.

Later today I learned that my girlfriend had been offered a job which brightened both our days. Seeing as how her department was cutting the staff back by half at the end of March and she was among the half that were going out the door, this was a bit of good news and you know what’s coming next don’t you?

What will happen to make it all go sour, what bit of bad news will we have to endure because we’ve been graced with some good?

Is this cynical?

Possibly.

Have I learned that every bit of good news is followed by some bad?

Definitely.

So over the next few days I’ll be listening, watching and waiting for it to arrive, hoping all the time that just maybe this time, someone up there will allow this little bit of good news to go on unseen. Whatever the outcome though, you can be sure that I’ll let you know how we got on.

See you soon,

Jan.

About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

