Good news, bad news

Hi there,

why is it that whenever you get some good news it has to be tempered with a huge chunk of bad?

I had a lovely phone call last night off my nephew who has just purchased my first book and he was glowing with his praise for it. He even told me it was better than other first time novels he’d read, which really lifted my spirits. He’s asked if he could proof read my next which I agreed to whole heartedly. He’s incredibly talented and has an intelligence that just sparkles so any input he may give me will be invaluable.

That’s the good news,

this morning my partner drove off to work and a short while later phoned to say her car had broken down. Now as you can imagine, living in a rural area where everything is miles from home, a car is essential, so it was with trepidation we called the RAC. when they arrived it took the mechanic a short while to evaluate the problem. The engine had seized and it was totally useless so we were left with a couple tons of scrap and no means to get around. When he told us the diagnosis we were in total disbelief as there were no signs of oil leaking or of any warning lights and seeing as how the car had an MOT only a few months ago we just stood by the road side devastated.

I don’t know if it’s God‘s joke, or a test to see if we’re worthy or simply bad luck but why does any amount of good luck you receive have to be tempered with some bad luck?

It probably doesn’t happen to everyone like this, they could quite possibly sail through life only encountering good luck, if that’s the case then I’ll give them my address and they can come to collect their bad luck because I’m sure I’ve had someone else allotted amount.

That’s a little cynical I know but it’s hard to stay positive in the face of constant adversity and possibly the only thing that helps is something I touched on in earlier posts, knowing that there are people in the world who live their lives in horrendous conditions and thank God every day for a handful of grain or bowlful of clean water. Putting my troubles next to theirs makes mine seem like a drop in the ocean.

No doubt we’ll come through this latest set back with a smile on our faces, better prepared for the next time fate takes a swing at us.

See you soon,

Jan.

About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Good news, bad news

  1. Pingback: Bad Day …Good Day? | Everyday Gyaan

Leave a Reply

