Settling in, yet retaining that holiday feel.

Hi there,

it’s been a few weeks now since I moved to my new home in Matlock and this last weekend saw the official handing back of the keys to my old home.

Today, with being on holiday, my partner and I took a short trip over to Chatsworth and visited their garden centre and their farm shop. It’s been a lovely day, sunny with just a hint of chill remaining in the air to remind us that spring is still not quite here yet.

As I was walking around, looking at the spectacular views I remarked to my partner that, for me, it was like being on holiday away from home. We spoke about how long it was before the novelty of living somewhere so picturesque wore off on her and if I’d ever take my surroundings for granted and not appreciate the beauty of it all.

Being the wise and wonderful person she is she told  me that although I would come to regard it as home I would never take it all for granted.

Wouldn’t it be sad if we didn’t see the world for the wonderful place it is, I know there are hell holes on Earth and some people live in them and there’s nothing I can do to change that, I may be able to ease their suffering but there is a limit to what we can do. For those who are fortunate enough to live in comfort and what we in the west consider normality, for those people to not appreciate the splendour of the world around them in my opinion is sad to say the least. It’s the age old adage of ‘no matter how bad off you think you are, there is always someone worse off than yourself”

This post may ramble on a bit, and I’m not seeking to start some philosophical debate on man’s propensity to harm each other or the world around him I was just saying what a great day I had.

See you soon,

Jan.

About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

