First holiday of the year.

Hi there,

just come to the end of the first day of my first holiday of the year after the Christmas break and what a day it’s been. My partner and I along with my daughter spent most of the day cleaning out my old house after removing all the rubbish and furniture and everything that I wasn’t taking with me to my new abode.

It’s amazing how much stuff you can accumulate in just a few short years. I knew it would take some time and there would be quite a bit of stuff to move but I wasn’t prepared for the volume of stuff that there actually was.

After several trips to the local charity shops to donate surplus items and a couple trips to the recycling depot to dispose of unwanted rubbish we finally finished and went home.

Before tea we had a salesman call round to talk about a front door we were thinking of having to replace the existing one.

Why is it that these people try these inane tactics?

I told my partner that the first quote he would give us would be ridiculously high then he would tell us that the special discounted price, which again was too high would be off the table if we decided to think about it and call them later with our decision and then he would offer us a special discounted price where he would give us his own discount and his own percentage that he would normally take from the sale would be deducted from the price. All totally b******t of course.

So he started his script and it was so obvious that it was a script when I asked a few questions which he couldn’t answer because they were later in the script and if he went off that he would be lost. The script followed the guidelines I’d laid out for my partner who being the clever person she is, saw through him after less than five minutes of him being in the house. So when we got down to the nitty gritty after being told about the product and how it was made and how his company differed from all the other companies out there, how they were an ethical company and wouldn’t lie to us blah blah blah we got to the pricing.

After the initial ridiculous price which we knew was coming we went through the charade of him telling us about all the discounts and how he would let us have it at the special discounted price using 7% of his 10% commission because it had been a good month and 3% was better than nothing blah blah blah we ended up getting the product, which we were impressed with I must say, at the price we thought was fair and he went away happy, probably earning 10% commission anyway thinking he’d put one over on us. The initial price is set ridiculously high so they have room to barter and when they bring it down to somewhere close to it being what it should the customer thinks they have a bargain, that they knocked him down from what he wanted to charge. I don’t think for one minute that they enter a potential customers home expecting them to sign on the dotted line after the first quote and if the customer does then they must have more money than sense.

It would be refreshing if they started off by saying “Look this is the product you want, I’m not going to beat about the bush, this is how much it cost’s, do you want it or not?” and actually quote the price they know they’ll end up with agreeing on anyway.

It may be refreshing but would the customer be as satisfied than if they thought they’d actually beaten the price down from some insane figure to one they were prepared to pay? Probably not!

Anyway I just thought I’d share my thoughts on the issue with you, I’m sure there’ll be some out there who would like to argue the points I’ve made and most of them would probably be salesmen but never mind after all it’s just my opinion.

See you soon,

Jan.

About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

