Expanded Sales Channel

Hi there,

hope this bad weather is not treating you all too badly, I find myself unable to get around as freely as I’d liked, except to work and back which is a necessity rather than a pleasure. So because I’m stuck indoors for a while I’ve decided to complete something I’ve been putting off for a while and that is to upgrade my account on Createspace where my book is published.

I’ve taken on the option of using what they call The Extended Sales Channel, which means I can list my book in book stores and retail outlets, public library’s and Createspace’s E-store.

What they don’t tell you is how do I get it listed, do they do it, do I have to physically go to each outlet and ask for them to list it, what? I have no idea!

This part of the publishing process is really frustrating, because I have no marketing experience I’m flying completely blind here and I’m beginning to see what the large publishing houses do to earn their clients their money.

No matter what I want to do seems will cost an arm and a leg to accomplish and I know there will be some of you who will argue that to accumulate you have to speculate or that if I want this bad enough I’ll do anything to achieve it but you have to temper that with knowing what you can achieve with what you have at hand. Quite simply, if the funds are not available other means have to be singled out.

This by no means that I’ll give up, I’ve been working at trying to get my work out to the reading public for too long to give up now and besides I derive too much pleasure from writing to pack it all in now.

So the only thing to do is carry on and figure it out. So if there’s anyone out there reading this, apart from me, pretty soon you may see my first book advertised in your local book store, keep ’em peeled people.

See you soon

Jan

About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

