Reviews, do they matter?

I recently bought a book by David L Goleman called Event, it was the first of his proposed series which featured the Event Group, if you’re familiar with this author I’m sure you know who and what I’m talking about. I actually bought the second in the series, Legend, first and tried to get Event in and around where I live and eventually purchased it from Amazon, now to the point.

I was asked by Amazon to review my purchase which I dutifully did and when I went onto the site to see if it had been uploaded I came across other reviews for the book.

I must say I enjoyed the book, I thought it a great start to the series, it had pace, good strong characters you want to see develop and it was so heading for a series it was unbelievable.

Other reviewers had different opinions however. One reviewer in particular stated that Mr Goleman stole from every source available, now as writers, and I’m sure some of you will agree with this, we reference other material in almost everything we do. Now I know there will be those among you that will argue that what you do is totally original, but really? is anything TOTALLY original any more? This reviewer picked up on points that may or not be true, they were details that I was unaware of and never thought to check up on because I was carried along by the story.

Robert Ludlum used to say that there were plenty of good novelists around but not many good story tellers, I tend to agree. So what part do reviews play? Are they necessary?

In my humble opinion, they are helpful as gauges of public opinion but I can honestly say that I’ve never allowed any review of anything, whether it be a book, film or play to colour my own opinion. I listen to what a review has to say and I either agree or disagree, I’ve never let a bad review put me off going to see a film I wanted to see or buy a book I wanted to read and also as a budding writer I set out fully understanding that I’ll never please all the people all the time..

Now I’m aware that if anyone does read this then they will have differing opinions to the one on here and I welcome any comments you would like to present to me, good or bad, for as you all are aware, we’re all entitled to our own opinion.

See you soon

Jan

About jandomagala

Having worked in the ceramic printing industry since leaving school in the early 70's I've had a passion for the written word. I started writing in the 80's and since discovering the self publishing world have finally seen the first part of my ambition come to fruition, my name in print. Now with the help of wordpress and other promotion tools I hope to see the second part of my ambition come true, to earn a living from writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

